offices for foreign procurement are located at London, England, and Washington, U.S.A. The Regional Purchasing Branch has 14 district purchasing offices located throughout Canada for local or urgent procurement. In addition, the Department contains the International Programs Branch, the Canadian Government Printing Bureau, Procurement Purchasing and Stores Branch and the following staff and support branches which service both the Departments of Defence Production and Industry—Comptroller's, Financial Adviser's, General Services, Legal, Management Control, Management Services, and Personnel. The Emergency Supply Planning Branch is responsible for planning the arrangements necessary to permit a War Supplies Agency to be brought into immediate existence in the event of a nuclear war.

As a result of a Cabinet decision on Sept. 4, 1963, the Department has been designated as the central purchasing agency for all civil departments and agencies, other than the commercially oriented Crown corporations. Branches that have been formed to carry out these new responsibilities are—Cataloguing, Quality Assurance, Specifications and Standards, Traffic Management, and Warehousing and Distribution.

Crown corporations and agencies reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Industry in his capacity as Minister of the Department of Defence Production are the Canadian Government Printing Bureau, Canadian Arsenals Limited, Canadian Commercial Corporation, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, Emergency Measures Organization and Polymer Corporation Limited.

Dominion Bureau of Statistics.—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (SC 1918, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (RSC 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (RSC 1952, c. 257); it was amended by SC 1952-53, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is a major publication agency of the Federal Government; its reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Emergency Measures Organization.—This organization was established in June 1957 for the purpose of co-ordinating civil emergency planning at the federal level. On Sept. 1, 1959, the Federal Government, in revising the assignments in the field of civil emergency planning, gave the Departments of National Defence, National Health and Welfare, and Justice, responsibility for certain specific civil defence functions, and the Emergency Measures Organization responsibility for overall co-ordination of all aspects of civil emergency planning, assistance to provincial governments and municipalities, and general liaison with other countries. On July 1, 1963, the Organization was given the further responsibility of directing and administering the Civil Defence College at Arnprior, Ont., a responsibility previously discharged by the Department of National Health and Welfare. The organization reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (RSC 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The Minister responsible for the Department is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (Deputy Minister) of the Department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by the officers in charge of the various divisions. The divisional heads are each responsible for a part of the work of the Department and they are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, administrative officers and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First Secretaries, Second Secretaries, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. There are 77 diplomatic, consular and other missions maintained abroad by the Department. In 30 additional countries, Canada is represented by non-resident Ambassadors or High Commissioners.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 25 units, comprising 24 divisions and one section. The divisions may be grouped into three categories—area, functional and administrative. There are six area divisions—African and Middle Eastern, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern, Latin American and United States; thirteen functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Defence Liaison (1), Defence Liaison (2), Disarmament, Economic, Historical, Information, Legal, Passport, Press and Liaison, Protocol and United Nations; and five administrative divisions—Administrative Services, Finance, Personnel, Registry, and Supplies and Properties. The one section is the Inspection Service.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Finance.—This Department was created by Act of Parliament in 1869 and now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including the raising of money required for